void box


Strategic Governing Body

STEP Governance

The name STEP, an acronym, reflects the aspirational nature of the organisation – Striving Together for Excellence in Partnership. Inspired by the commitment to improve children’s life chances, STEP Academies work together to provide high quality learning experiences for all their pupils.

STEP Governors

“STEP First” is the notion that, first and foremost, everyone is committed to being part of The STEP Academy Trust. All governors must be fully aligned to the Trust’s Mission and Vision. Although serving one or more particular Academies, governors are members of the wider STEP team. We are all one team, in one organisation, working towards the same goal: to be outstanding in all we do – STEP First!

STEP Governance Structure

Recent changes introduced by the Department for Education (DfE) allow academy trusts to establish a local governing body that is responsible for two or more academies.



The new Strategic Governing Bodies will have a maximum of 12 Governors as follows:

  • SGB Composition
  • Each SGB will be composed as follows:
  • Parent x2 (elected, ideally one from each Academy)
  • Staff x2 (Head Teachers)
  • Staff x2 (elected, ideally one from each Academy)
  • Co-opted Governors x 6
  • Temporary Associate Members
  • (A representative of the STEP EMT will work with each SGB and attend its meetings)

Composition of the Strategic Governing Bodies (SGB) The new Strategic Governing Bodies will have a maximum of 12 Governors and will in most cases be responsible for the governance of two Academies. Applegarth will be paired with Wolsey Junior Academy.


It is the belief of the Board of Trustees that this new governance structure, underpinned by sound principles, will make best use of our strengths, will address our challenges and will provide the framework for each of our Academies to become Outstanding at the next opportunity.


Mark Riddaway – Chair, Karen Harrison (staff), Sarah Lippett (parent), Eileen Riley (Co-opted Governor), Marcel Rizza (Co-opted Governor), Benjamin Vertannes (Co-opted Governor),   John Halliwell (Executive Headteacher),  Gerard Brown (Head of School Applegarth) Paul Glover/Mark Ducker (Trustee), Lynn Bruce – Clerk.


Governing Body Minutes

SGB Meeting Minutes May 2019

SGB Meeting Minutes February 2019

SGB Meeting Minutes December 2018

SGB Meeting Minutes July 2018

SGB Meeting Minutes January 2018

SGB Meeting Minutes December 2017

SGB Meeting Minutes September 2017

SGB Meeting Minutes July 2017

RC Meeting minutes May 2017

SC Meeting minutes May 2017

SGB Minutes Nov 2016


Please use the link below to access STEP Board meeting minutes (including STEP Board Member attendance at each meeting):