STEP Governance

The STEP Academy Trust
Established in May 2011, The STEP Academy Trust currently comprises of seven members:
Angel Oak Academy (formerly Gloucester Primary School)

Applegarth Academy

David Livingstone Academy

La Fontaine Academy

Gonville Academy

Heathfield Academy opening September 2015

Wolsey Junior Academy

The name STEP, an acronym, reflects the aspirational nature of the organisation – Striving Together for Excellence in Partnership. Inspired by the commitment to improve children’s life chances, STEP Academies work together to provide high quality learning experiences for all their pupils.

STEP Governors

“STEP First” is the notion that, first and foremost, everyone is committed to being part of The STEP Academy Trust.  All governors must be fully aligned to the Trust’s Mission and Vision.  Although serving one or more particular Academies, governors are members of the wider STEP team.  We are all one team, in one organisation, working towards the same goal:  to be outstanding in all we do – STEP First!

STEP Governance

Structure Recent changes introduced by the Department for Education (DfE) allow academy trusts to establish a local governing body that is responsible for two or more academies. As a result, from September 2015 The STEP Academy Trust will have a structure as illustrated below:

 Diagram: STEP Academy Trust Governance Structure, September 2015


Composition of the Strategic Governing Bodies (SGB) The new Strategic Governing Bodies will have a maximum of 12 Governors and will in most cases be responsible for the governance of two Academies. Applegarth will be paired with Wolsey Junior Academy.


It is the belief of the Board of Trustees that this new governance structure, underpinned by sound principles, will make best use of our strengths, will address our challenges and will provide the framework for each of our Academies to become Outstanding at the next opportunity.

Mark Riddaway – Chair, Selina Boshorin, Nina Goel, Lesley Fish, Graham Smith, Darlene Browning (staff), Tammy Curtis (staff), Robert Elliott (parent), Marisse Green (parent), Ryan Ardé (Headteacher Wolsey), John Halliwell (Headteacher Applegarth), Paul Glover/Mark Ducker (Trustee), Carol Fagan/Liz Parry – Clerk.